Obstacles or Opportunities?

I created my Studio to be a space for Healing and Creativity through Yoga, Art and Music. My plan was to host classes between the hours of 6pm and 10pm. The opening day for my Studio is set for September 1st. Now, with the current Limited State of Emergency, a curfew is in effect from 9pm to 5am. I’m hoping that this measure adopted by our Government accomplishes what it has been set out to do and the curfew lifted soon. It’s been a worrying concern as my Studio needs to generate enough income to pay the bills.

This was on  my mind all day today, as messages and emails came in from other Studios indicating changes in their schedules effectively cancelling all evening classes, and I wondered if I would be able to host classes at all. I decided to watch a movie to distract myself and the movie Evan Almighty was on cable. It’s a funny and endearing movie where newly elected congressman, who seems to have everything he wants: supportive wife, great kids, dream job, huge new house, and a great new position in Congress based on his electoral slogan which promised that he would ‘Change the World’. God appears to Evan, and gently commands him to build an ark. Needless to say, through enough funny mishaps and a little faith, Evan eventually believes in his new mission despite losing favour with Congress, the public and his family. I won’t give away the outcome of the movie but one scene in particular made me sit up:

God: (posing as a waiter named Al Mighty) I love that story, Noah and the Ark. You know, a lot of people miss the point of that story. They think it’s about God’s wrath and anger. They love it when God gets angry.

Joan (Evan’s wife): What is the story about, then? The ark?

God: Well, I think it’s a love story about believing in each other. You know, the animals showed up in pairs. They stood by each other, side by side, just like Noah and his family. Everybody entered the ark side by side.

Joan: But my husband says God told him to do it. What do you do with that?

God: Sounds like an opportunity. Let me ask you something. If one prays for patience, do you think God gives them patience? Or does he give them the opportunity to be patient? If they pray for courage, does God give them courage, or does he give them opportunities to be courageous? If one prayed for their family to be closer, you think God zaps them with warm, fuzzy feelings? Or does he give them opportunities to love each other?

***********
So, maybe this is an opportunity for me. Maybe there are advantages to opening a Studio in a residential area, which has it’s own security patrols and guard booths. Perhaps, the community’s residents might be more inclined to attend classes at a Studio which is 5 minutes from their homes. Perhaps this a chance for my Studio to have a running start, despite the seeming obstacles along the path.

Obstacles?…..Or Opportunities?

Leave a Reply

